Golden Designs Savonlinna GDI-8503-01 3-Person Outdoor Traditional
Retailer price at Select Saunas, last checked 3 Nov 2026. Price may vary. Stock status not shown on the listing.
Affiliate link: Cedar Scout may earn a commission if you buy through it. Commissions never change our scores or rankings.
Our take
The Golden Designs Savonlinna GDI-8503-01 3-Person Outdoor Traditional is a 3-person traditional cabin for outdoor use, sold by Select Saunas for $13,999 when we last checked on 3 Nov 2026. Among 97 traditional and hybrid outdoor saunas we list, its spec score ranks 85 of 97, and its price compares with a $7,444 median for the group.
Needs a dedicated 30A or 240V circuit. Budget for an electrician and, where required, a permit. Its published size leaves about 10.9 sq ft of footprint per seat.
Strengths
- Strong heat for its type, 8 kW heater
- Roomy: about 10.9 sq ft of footprint per seat
Trade-offs
- Priced high for its specs: $13,999 against a $7,444 median for traditional and hybrid outdoor saunas
- Warranty shorter than most similar saunas: Length not stated on the Select Saunas listing
- Needs a dedicated 240V or 30A circuit, installed by a licensed electrician
- Maximum temperature not published
Good fit for
- Households of up to 3 at a time
- Backyards with a level, solid base and outdoor-rated power nearby
Consider another option if you're
- Homes with no room in the panel for a new 240V circuit
- Anyone who wants a plug-in setup or gentler air heat: look at infrared models
- Anyone planning an indoor install: it's built for outdoors
- Tight budgets: similar saunas have a median price of $7,444
Specifications
| Brand | Golden Designs |
|---|---|
| Model | Savonlinna GDI-8503-01 3-Person Outdoor Traditional |
| Type | Traditional · outdoor cabin |
| Price | $13,999 last checked 3 Nov 2026 Harvia 8 kW stove included; lighting on a separate 120V 15A circuit |
| Seller | Select Saunas (affiliate link) |
| Seller's list price | $16,999, as shown by the seller |
| Availability | Stock status not shown on the listing |
| Shipping | Not published |
| Seats | 3, per the maker |
| Exterior W × D × H | 69 × 68 × 89 in source |
| Footprint | 32.6 sq ft |
| Interior size | Not published on the listing |
| Heating | 8 kW electric stove with stones |
| Maximum temperature | Not published |
| Electrical | 240V, 40A · 8,000 W source |
| Connection | Licensed electrician install (240V 40A stove) |
| What that means | Needs a dedicated 30A or 240V circuit |
| Wood | Canadian red cedar |
| Warranty | Length not stated on the Select Saunas listing source |
| Indoor or outdoor | Outdoor |
| Listed features | Steam from water on stones, Bluetooth, Color lighting |
Interior size, heater model (for infrared) and the largest delivered piece aren't on the seller's listing. Check with the seller before you buy.
Rating breakdown
How its Basic spec rating breaks down by category, each compared with similar saunas. Full method.
| Construction & durability | Not published, left out |
|---|---|
| Value | Basic |
| Heating | Excellent |
| Warranty & support | Basic |
| Installation | Basic |
| Features | Not scored |
| Appearance | Not rated yet |
| Space & capacity | Excellent |
Dimensions and installation
- Power. Needs a dedicated 30A or 240V circuit (240V, 40A · 8,000 W). Have a licensed electrician confirm your panel and wiring before you order.
- Floor space. The maker doesn't publish clearances here, so Make Sure It Fits assumes 3 in at the sides and back: plan on about 75 × 71 in of floor.
- Base. Outdoor saunas need a level, solid base such as a concrete pad or pavers, and outdoor-rated wiring. See our installation cost guide.
- Doorways. The listing doesn't give the largest delivered piece, so measure your narrowest door or gate and ask the seller.
Running cost estimate
At its rated 8,000 W, four 75-minute sessions a week (warm-up included) at the U.S. average of 18.3¢ per kWh (EIA) come to about $32 a month, or $381 a year. This is an estimate, not a quote: heaters cycle off once hot, so most owners pay less. Use your own rate in the True Cost calculator.
Warranty and support
The seller's listing doesn't state the warranty length. Ask the seller for the written terms before you buy. source Orders, delivery and warranty claims go through Select Saunas, the seller, and Golden Designs, the maker. Read the written warranty before you buy, because outdoor use and self-installation can change the terms. Our warranty guide lists the questions to ask.
Check current price & availability
Retailer price at Select Saunas · last checked 3 Nov 2026 · price may vary
- Shipping and delivery details on the seller's page ↗
- Compare similar saunas
- See if it fits my space
- Estimate the five-year cost
Affiliate link: Cedar Scout may earn a commission if you buy through it. Commissions never change our scores or rankings.
Similar saunas
Compare these side by side in Sauna Comparison · All Golden Designs saunas
Related guides
Sources
Price, size, power and warranty come from the seller's listing here, last checked 3 Nov 2026. Prices change often; the seller's page is the final word. Recall status: not part of the 17 Sept 2026 CPSC sauna recall, the recall we checked. We haven't tested this sauna in person. Electrical details are preliminary and don't replace a licensed electrician.
Independent by design. We order saunas with our published method. Cedar Scout may earn a commission when you buy through affiliate links on this page. Commissions never change which saunas appear, their scores or their order. How we earn money.